This website uses cookies to ensure we can provide you with the best browsing experience.
NDC - Research NDC Web site – Research –Researchers


Researchers and Faculty Advisers

The Research Division is manned by a team of Researchers and Faculty Advisors that research on NATO-related issues.


The NATO Defense College offers a number of fellowships each year in the field of defence and security policy research related to NATO and its Partners.

  • Elin Hellquist BIO

    Elin Hellquist

    Partnership for Peace Fellow

    Areas of expertise:
    International military missions and operations, United Nations peacekeeping, Military capacity building, Sanctions, Regionalism
  • James Lee BIO

    James Lee

    Eisenhower Defense Fellow

    Areas of expertise:
    U.S. strategy, Indo-Pacific security, Geoconomics, Historical international relations
  • Jeffrey H. Michaels BIO

    Jeffrey H. Michaels

    Senior Eisenhower Defense Fellow

    Publications at NDC
    Areas of expertise:
    Nuclear weapons, deterrence, Cold War, NATO, US foreign policy
  • Sitara Noor BIO

    Sitara Noor

    Partners Across the Globe Fellow

    Areas of expertise:
    Nuclear security, nonproliferation issues, South Asian security
Fellows work on a NATO-relevant topic throughout their fellowship at the NDC. Their papers are then published in one of the NDC Series.

Non-Resident Associate Fellows

The NDC created in 2019 a new category of researchers affiliated to the NDC Research Division: the Non-Resident Associate Fellows (NRAFs).
NRAFs support the College through their expertise on areas that are relevant to the NDC and NATO's broader agenda.